Is cautiously optimistic the same thing as recklessly pessimistic?

Too much?

Hello, dear friends. I have quite an update to share! Remember how I signed up for eHarmony and joked about a couple of my ridiculous matches? Well…… they weren’t all ridiculous.

My One Year Challenge ended in the middle of May, then on May 28th I signed up for eHarmony, wrote a story about the unbelievably horrible interesting matches I was receiving the following day and was simultaneously matched with someone pretty amazing. I fully expected to sign up for eHarmony, as I’ve done in the past, meet a couple of bores, a few clowns (hopefully not scary real ones,) collect a handful of funny stories and that would be that. I didn’t think I’d actually meet someone – and certainly not right out of the gate!

Mr. Wonderful and I got through the guided communication stage pretty quickly and once our conversation was more free-flowing, we really started to get to know each other. 1,500-word emails from me were met with equally long email responses, if not longer, and we quickly graduated to phone conversations. Our longest conversation to-date was 10 hours and I’d say our average now that we’ve logged about 200 hours on the phone is around 5 hours. That’s a whole lot of talking and listening. And we still haven’t run out of topics. (Admittedly, I am a jabberjaw, but still! That’s a lot of talking!) Thank goodness we both have unlimited plans.

The only caveat right now is the distance. He lives on the opposite side of the country and lately this has become a thing among my set. Everyone keeps warning me to be cautiously optimistic. What is that, exactly? You would never say to your friend “I hope that things work out for you but I don’t expect them to.” or “That’s so exciting! But keep your hopes in the middle because life is a steaming pile of shit just waiting for you to step in it.”

One friend has suggested a full background check with drug test and psych evaluation. And how do you bring that topic up, exactly? You know, I met a guy at church a few years ago who turned out to be a complete lunatic stalker but because we shared mutual friends, nobody would have dreamed of suggesting a full cavity search and FBI interrogation.

So, Mr. Wonderful is coming to Atlanta to visit me next month and ever since I announced the news, there has been a new wave of cautious optimism. So, don’t wear a wedding dress to meet him at the airport. Got it. But other than that, what’s the big deal? I like him. I really, really like him and I am excited to finally meet him in person. If we don’t have chemistry, if we don’t gel, I will be very disappointed but it won’t be the end of the world. I’ve lived through worse. What if we approached every life situation like that?

“I want to go to a movie today, but what if I don’t like it? I won’t go then.”

“I want to read that book everyone’s talking about but what if I hate it? I’ll just watch tv.”

“I want to meet my friends for dinner but what if I don’t like the food? I’ll just stay in.”

“How much you wanna make a bet I can throw a football over them mountains?… . Nah, who am I kiddin’, I won’t even try. If coach had put me in, I wouldn’t have won State.”

He lives 1,900 miles away. Is this what has everyone freaked out? My friend’s husband is skeptical about the entire thing because he finds it hard to believe that I can’t meet someone in Atlanta. Believe it or not, eHarmony has never even matched me up with anyone within a 100-mile radius of Atlanta. South of Macon is the closest I’ve gotten and, folks, he was about 350 pounds in overalls on a tractor and had on some sort of straw hat. I don’t think so.

The truth of the matter is that my friends care about me and don’t want to see me get hurt. But there’s no way to find out without putting yourself out there and exposing yourself. Well, that was probably a poor choice of words. I think it’s illegal (and creepy) to expose yourself. I meant ‘be vulnerable’. But the persistence of their caring makes me feel like they don’t believe he will like me. Isn’t this the risk you take when you court someone across The Great Divide? It’s easy to pop into a Starbucks and give someone the once-over, not as easy in this case. There is a bit more at stake (read: the money he’s spending on his airfare and stuff) and the buildup is so much greater that a letdown could be crushing.

Oh well, I’m a strong woman. I like myself. I know I’m smart, beautiful and funny and he is equally matched in all departments. So, I’ll see my friends’ cautious optimism with this:

Since this is apparently going to go horribly awry, I’m going to go and get his name tattooed on my ass this weekend. Reckless and pessimistic!

This entry was posted in Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Is cautiously optimistic the same thing as recklessly pessimistic?

  1. sheismrsbeasley says:

    I couldn’t pick you out of a lineup and I’m dad gum happy for you! But, you’re right. Your friends wouldn’t really be friends if they didn’t present the what if’s. Someone said to me on the day of my wedding, “Okay, somebody has to be the one to say it. You don’t HAVE to go through with it.” I guess she thought that was funny. I’m guessing that your friends also hope that this is going well because of everything you learned over the last year. I’m looking forward to more posts and I’m clinking a glass of sweet tea down here in Texas to your happiness!

  2. iRuniBreathe says:

    This makes me squeal (not like a girl) in delight as I read this. I think life is different in person (than in emails or over the phone) but that’s a good thing! Go be optimistic about opportunities and don’t be reckless with your emotions.
    Wheeee!

  3. Change My Body...Change My Life says:

    Wishing you fun and pleasant surprises.

  4. Congrats on meeting a good guy. Have fun meeting him in person. Whatever happens happens, right? 🙂

  5. The hypothetical questions you ask after “What if we approached every life situation like that?” actually sound a lot like my frightened, elderly mother. Anyway, I don’t know you but I hope things are magical.

  6. masquerade21 says:

    I’m from Scotland and I met my Australian boyfriend when we were both 16 and his mum had a job here. We only dated for 3 months before he had to go back to Oz but we decided to keep it going long distance and went more than a year without seeing each other on 2 occasions while we had to live thousands of miles apart. We kept it going and I’m 22 now and we have lived together for almost 3 years. Don’t let the distance deter you, if he is the guy for you then he is the guy for you. Good Luck.

  7. rachelocal says:

    I met my husband when he was four and I was ten. Then we reconnected on Facebook (so cliche). After two messages I knew it would go somewhere so I married him exactly one year after we met (again). I scoff at cautiously optimistic! Go for it! 200 hours of phone conversation means there’s a serious connection.

  8. paramourinwaiting says:

    Sounds like you had a very good experience with online dating. That’s a rarity. I can’t stop laughing at the wedding dress at the airport bit. LOL!!!

  9. The Guat says:

    I love this post. Not only is it funny and honest about the dating world and life, but it’s got great feeling. I understand your friends are trying to be caring and all, I get their side of it. But you are a bad-ass! Sending you positive vibes and wishing you the best as you dive into the deep end of the pool 🙂 No worries. You’re like Michael Phelps … bad ass.

    Incidentally your post was so good that it was hard to narrow down my favorite part, but I gotta say this quote was really awesome 🙂

    “That’s so exciting! But keep your hopes in the middle because life is a steaming pile of shit just waiting for you to step in it.”

  10. ~ Gloria says:

    Well, I tried the “online-then-we-meet-each-other” kind of relationship and it really doesn’t work for me. I don’t feel comfortable in front of a webcam, I don’t like talking to the phone, I don’t trust pictures. 90% of the fun is missing with all those devices in between. It’s all chemical, not rational, so you really need to use other senses if you wanna know if you like him or not. Plus we tend to daydream about the other and once met in person what you imagined is far from truth and you (me specifically) will be dramatically disappointed. Anyway try it, maybe it works for you 😉 GL!

    • The Spinster says:

      Thanks for commenting, Gloria! I have dated online before and actually had two long-termish (long-term by my track record) relationships. The emotional connection for me drives the physical attraction, so maybe I’m just wired differently. And I love talking on the phone. 🙂

  11. Scott Nagele says:

    Okay. My wife makes me watch a lot of Lifetime movies with her, so I think I can help you out here. If he grew up in an orphanage, where he was the really good kid, but there was another kid there who was a monster psychopath (and possibly a murderous childhood arson), and then one day, the really bad kid just disappeared . . . look out! He’s actually the killer bad kid who burned up the good kid and assumed his identity. He’s trying to marry you and become the beneficiary of the millions you just inherited before you have your terrible accident (possibly involving fire of some sort). Oh, and also you may be his long-lost sister. There are lots of other bad scenarios to look out for, but my experience says that this is the one you should be most on guard against. Glad I could help.

    • The Spinster says:

      Thanks, Scott. Just to be safe, I’ve shared your story with the local police in the event that they fail to make any headway in the arson case from which I inherited more millions than Montgomery Brewster. I’ve considered the possibility that I may be his long-lost sister, but we’re okay with that down here in the South. 😉 If he’s a killer clown, though, I have no defense against that. That’s got to be one of the other bad scenarios you were alluding to. Thanks for helping! 🙂

  12. jamielynne82 says:

    There you go! Go for it! This reminded me of my fav C.S. Lewis quote: “To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything, and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact, you must give your heart to no one, not even to an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements; lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket- safe, dark, motionless, airless–it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable.”

  13. From the cautious side of me: I have one word for you SKYPE. It may give you a little more insight into his personality before he actually flies those 1,900 miles.

    From the let-it-all-hang-out side of me: I am SUPER excited for you! What you’re describing is what the Hubby and I went through when we first met (except for the long distance thing)…extremely long emails and all! 🙂 I asked all my friends to “vet” him and he got all thumbs up so there is no harm in putting your guy through the friend test. It’s saved me a time or two to be sure! (Note: make sure it’s friends who give you their HONEST opinion…no matter how it will affect you or it doesn’t count.)

    Whatever happens I’m praying for you! 🙂

    • The Spinster says:

      Thanks Mindy! We’ll be skyping before his visit.

      And that’s what everybody keeps saying to me – that it all sounds just like when they met their husband. Whatever happens, happens, but he’s an amazing guy and I’d be a very lucky gal. 🙂

  14. whatbliss says:

    I’m totally not surprised, I mean, you’re amazing, why shouldn’t you meet someone? Sometimes really good things happen. They are callled blessings. I hope things go well!

    • The Spinster says:

      Thanks! Yeah, why shouldn’t I? I love blessings!

      I love what you said in your first post about regeneration. I hope things go well, too! It feels good to be optimistic. I hope things are blissful for you! 🙂

  15. No matter what happens, you’ll end up with a great story. I agree that keeping an open mind at this point is a good idea. I too cannot find a suitable date within at least a 100-mile radius but I want to start dating again. You are a good role model for me. I wish you the best of luck, or as we say in the theatre, “Break a leg!”

  16. renee says:

    Good luck! Hope you have fun.

  17. I’m glad eHarmony is working better for you than it ever did for me. 😉 But you two should have fun. Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right?

  18. thegirlwithpigtails says:

    Have you tried Skype, yet? Could be a bit more telling than phone convos only.Good luck. Live a little, andtake well educatedd risks (i.e. meet in a public place and don’t let him stay over just because).

  19. The Spinster says:

    All solid advice. Thanks! 🙂

  20. Well look at you! A month later and you have a serious connection already. I must say I am thoroughly impressed with you and your progress. I will spare you the skeptic talk as I am quite sure you have had your fill of it but I do wish you the best & safest luck humanly possible. I am a bit of a sucker for romance and it does my heart good to see other people find it. I look forward to reading more.

  21. Cakes McCain says:

    I don’t know how I missed this post! This is awesome!!! I hope it works out!

Leave a comment